Board Members

The Scottish National Jazz Orchestra currently has a Board consisting of 10 members who provide guidance, leadership, and support to the orchestra and their staff.

The position is voluntary and Board members are elected for a period initially of 3 years but may be re-elected for further terms if wished.  The Board encourages this policy of rotation to encourage new members, fresh ideas and to ensure stability and continuity.

We welcome applications at any time for new Board members who are interested in the work and future of the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra.  If appointed, they will be given personal guide to the SNJO’s work and an induction pack of information. Please contact us for more information.

Current Board Members

as of October 2017

Peter Wilson — Chairman

David Carslaw — Finance

Tommy Smith — Artistic Director

Campbell Normand — Legal Adviser

Simon Best — Business Adviser

Karl Chapman — Concert & Venues Adviser

Linda Cameron — Marketing & Social Media

Stephen Duffy — Media Adviser

Heather Macintosh — Musician and Youth Representative


'The SNJO deserved all the praise Kurt Elling so graciously lavished on them.'

Sponsors: We thank our sponsors Creative Scotland, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and Dundee Council for their continued support as well as the management teams at our regular venues, The Queen's Hall: Edinburgh, The Music Hall: Aberdeen, Eden Court: Inverness and Caird Hall: Dundee.

Creative ScotlandRoyal Conservatoire of ScotlandDundee CouncilThe Queen's Hall: EdinburghThe Music Hall: AberdeenEden Court: Inverness