SNJO 25 Jazz: Past, Present, Future

added on 25 November, 2020 | under Concert Series, just added, SNJO 25, WHAT'S ON
The SNJO at 25

If you’ve missed our live stream on 5th Dec, 2020, there’s a second chance to watch the concert for a limited time. The SNJO celebrates 25 years of top-quality music-making, drawn from almost 100 years of jazz and the classical and Scottish traditions.

Poets of words, as well as of notes and of instruments, have contributed to the SNJO’s extensive repertoire. From Robert Burns to Mozart, from Edwin Morgan to Mary Lou Williams and from Count Basie to Glasgow’s poet of the tenor saxophone, Bobby Wellins, the inspiration has flowed onto recordings and stages across Scotland, the UK, Europe, Japan and the U.S.

Have you missed it?

Here’s your second chance to watch the entire concert:

Buy access here

The music in this single set live stream represents our quarter-century in microcosm. Hear award-winning soloists Anoushka Nanguy and Liam Shortall and talented young arranger Kieran MacLeod expressing themselves through works by master composers Frank Loesser, Duke Ellington, Mary Lou Williams, and Charlie Parker as the ensemble upholds a reputation that began by local word of mouth and has spread into global recognition.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

'The SNJO deserved all the praise Kurt Elling so graciously lavished on them.'